Wipers On With No Headlights Can Get You A Ticket In Arkansas
On this rainy Wednesday, you could be breaking the law in Arkansas.
What, you look down I am not speeding. No, but did you know that if it is raining you are supposed to have your headlights on in the state of Arkansas? This is something that really gets me when I am driving. You see people everywhere that are going down the road not using their headlights when it is raining. With all of today's new technology your headlights are on automatic, right?
This is one of those common-sense laws. It is something you need to be doing to keep yourself safe and make your car visible to other motorists. If you are curious the exact statute is:
Title 27 - Transportation
Subtitle 3 - Motor Vehicles And Their Equipment
Chapter 36 - Lighting Regulations
Subchapter 2 - Lighting Requirements Generally
§ 27-36-204 - When lighted lamps are required.
If you are found guilty the fine is not to exceed $25.
According to the website your mechanic, the state of Arkansas rules for headlight use is as follows.
Headlights must be in use from 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise.
Headlights must also be in use when you cannot see more than 500 feet ahead of you.
Headlights are required when windshield wipers are turned on.
Arkansas is one of 18 states that require you to use your headlights when your wip[ers are on. This list includes Louisiana and Kansas. But what about Texas? The law in Texas states that you only need to use your headlights in extreme fog or after the sun goes down, that's it no mention of during any rain or adverse weather events.