Changes Are Coming for Arkansas Drivers Starting August 1
Have you heard? Changes are coming in August for Arkansas drivers who purchase a new vehicle going forward.
The change coming is temporary tags, normally any individual who purchases a vehicle would be issued temporary tags and be given 30 days in which to get the vehicle registered. This new change which begins August 1, will now allow the purchaser 60 days to get their vehicle registered with the state.
According to a report from THV11, state officials are hoping that this new law will diminish the number of expired paper tags on the road today and be beneficial to the driver as well by giving them the extra time needed for vehicle registration and to pay their sale taxes.
This new law should be really helpful to lower-income families and car dealers should benefit from it as well because as it stands right now if someone turns their vehicle in and it has a lien on it, the dealership most likely will have to pay it off and won't be able to get the title back for at least 45-50 days which in turn the dealer could be accessed a fine for being late.
According to the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, 32,000 people are driving with expired tags and that number seems to keep growing each year.
Motorcycles and Commercial trucks will also be a part of this new extension as well as people moving to Arkansas, it will give them the extra time needed to get their plates switched.